Staff Awards Night

Achievements of Bolton NHS staff from consultants to ward clerks were celebrated at an awards night. Chairman David Wakefield and Chief Executive Dr Jackie Bene praised all staff across the Trust – not just the finalists – for great work over the last couple of years. As well as the winners named below, they also paid tribute to the recent winners of the Employee of the Month awards and winners of external awards.

A round up of all the winners is below.


Emma Lees Student of the Year


The Student of the Year award went to Student Nurse Emma Lees who, despite being new to her placement, had the confidence and courage to speak up and suggest how improvements could be made to the student programme. Her actions reflected the culture of support and integrity adopted by Bolton NHS Foundation Trust and the wider 6 Cs (care, compassion, competence, communication, courage and commitment) endorsed by the NHS.


Rosemary Evans Volunteer of the Year

The award for Volunteer of the Year went to Rosemary Evans for her work visiting patients and staff on the wards two days a week and giving them spiritual and religious care. The Eucharistic minister, who is registered blind and lived in America before coming to Bolton, has been offering that support for 25 years at the Trust.


The John Briscoe Award was shared by Acute Pain Sister Trudy Hadcroft and Vascular Nurse Specialist Paula Thompson who will each receive a bursary to support further studies to Masters level. Trudy stood out because of her work making sure that patients undergoing procedures in the Radiology Department receive timely and effective pain relief with minimal side effects. Meanwhile, Paula had demonstrated her pro-activeness in raising awareness of vascular disease and the quality of the service provided at the Trust.


The Extra Mile Award went to Marion Hornby, District Nurse at Farnworth, who valiantly tried CPR when faced with a serious, and sadly ultimately fatal, RTA.

Alison Rimmer Non Clinical Employee of the Year


The Employee of the Year Award (non-clinical) went to Ward Clerk Alison Rimmer who was said to have made an “invaluable contribution” to Orthopaedics by Ward Manager Shirley Whittaker who nominated her. Sourcing cost-effective equipment, preparing notes for ward rounds, demonstrating the correct method of filing notes and her compassion when dealing with distressed and confused patients made her stand out.


The Employee of the Year award (clinical) was won by Podiatrist Penelope Hilton who has been a member of the NHS Podiatry Team for 46 years. Her team leader Alison Spensley felt the care and compassion she shows to patients in clinic made her a deserving winner.

 Community Paediatric Advanced Nurse Practitioners Clinical Team of the Year

The award for Team of the Year (clinical) was won by the Community Paediatric Advanced Nursing Practitioner Team. Janice O’Brien, Maria Gault and Jill Davies picked up the award for their innovative work which has led to hundreds more children being able to be seen closer to their own homes rather than hospital.


The award for Team of the Year (non-clinical) went to the Medical Secretariat – General Surgery, Elective Care. Stephanie Peet, Angela Litter, Karen Bailey, Alison Gray, Janet Steele, Joanne Slater, Charlotte Russell, Donna Hill, Julie Cartwright and Sheila Ashworth won for their work making sure GPs get outpatient results within five working days.

 Acute Frailty Team Quality Improvement Award

The Quality Improvement of the Year award went to the Acute Frailty Unit Team. The multidisciplinary team was nominated for work ensuring older people who do not need hospital admission but still need a short period of assessment or observation get the appropriate help and support.




Comments are closed.